Danielle Smith has won the United Conservative Party (UCP) leadership race.

Smith captured 53.8 per cent of votes on the final ballot and will be Alberta's next premier.

"I'm back!" the former leader of the Wildrose Party said in her acceptance speech.

Travis Toews finished second with 46.2 per cent of the vote. 

Smith will become Alberta's 19th premier, she replaces Jason Kenney who held the role for three years. 

According to the UCP, about 82,000 mail-in and in-person votes were cast.